Skip to main content

SEFLIN Region Digital Directory

This is a guide to SEFLIN membership area organizations' digitization plan status, strategies, and available content. This guide is intended to assist in creating connections between institutions and fostering collaborative partnerships.

These pages list the results of a survey conducted in the fall of 2016 by LYRASIS on behalf of SEFLIN. Libraries, museums, and cultural institutions in the SEFLIN region were asked about topics such as their digitization priorities, digitization activity status, content management system, and digitization equipment as well as questions about the content of their special collections materials. These responses were collected in hopes of creating a directory of institutions that have not only the resources and experience to digitize collections, but also those that have materials that may be of interest to others. If you are looking to find a partner in a digitization project, the institutions listed herein should be on your list. Please see the results in these pages for listings of institutions with digitization resources including tools such as scanners, as well as institutional knowledge. Partnerships are encouraged!

SEFLIN Members

Barry University

Website: https://www.barry.edu/library-services/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Maps, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Paper finding aids, Research Guides, content management system

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local & national history, politics, religion, social work, famous citizens

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Archival documents, Audio or video recordings, Scrapbooks

Priorities for analog preservation: University Records: Photographs, newspaper, yearbooks, theses & dissertations  Special Collections: Local history/citizens collections

Digitization plan status:  In draft form

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house?  Yes

Equipment used: [2] Flatbed scanners (Epson Perfection V600 photo scanner), transparency adapter for 35mm slides and photo negatives    - [1] Feeder scanner (HP)    - [1] Book scanner / large format (Konica Minolta PS7000C MKII), TWAIN driver, Plexiglass    - Adobe Photoshop CS6, Abbey Fine Reader / Adobe Reader (OCR capability)    - VHS/ DVD recorder, (Magnavox ZV427MG9), TV monitor, Handbrake program    - SLR digital camera, book holder

Formats digitized to date: Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings

Platform for accessing digitized collections: CONTENTdm, Social sites (blogs, photo sharing sites, wikis, etc.). Exploring open source options: SobekCM and Islandora

 

 

Boca Raton Public Library

Website: http://www.bocalibrary.org/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Microfilm or microfiche, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Paper finding aids

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Boca Raton News - local history 1970 - 2009  Countess Henrietta de Hoernle collection  Boca Raton Public Library archives

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books

Priorities for analog preservation:  1.  Strict no mold, no water damage policy enforced at check in and through collection review.      2.  Local history and library archives.  We developed a finding aid and items are stored in archival folders and appropriate boxes.      3.  Library owned artwork and visiting gallery artwork - stored and displayed as appropriate using correct materials and hangers.

Digitization plan status:  There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, but we are planning to start in the next 12 months.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: desk-top scanners

Formats digitized to date: Ephemera, Photographs

Platform for accessing digitized collections: not available to public

 

 

Boynton Beach City Library

Website: http://www.boyntonlibrary.org/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks,

How are your collections discoverable? Paper finding aids, spreadsheets, word of mouth

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? local history, Boynton Beach, Palm Beach County, Southeast Florida, natural history/ecology

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks, works of art, quilts

Priorities for analog preservation: We are digitizing to better preserve our analog collections and to facilitate access to the content as well as distribution.

Digitization plan status:  Approved

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Scanners, Silverfast and Adobe software

Formats digitized to date: Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks,

Platform for accessing digitized collections: we are working on this and would appreciate and guideance or direction in this matter.

 

 

Broward College

Website: http://www.broward.edu/studentresources/library/Pages/default.aspx

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Maps, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Website

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? College history, local history.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? No

Digitization plan status:  In draft form

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Flatbed scanner

Formats digitized to date: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Internet Archive, Islandora. We use Islandora as provided by the state consortia.

 

 

Florida Atlantic University

Website: https://www.fau.edu/library/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Archon Finding Aids and Digital Collections

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? University Archives (content related to the University's history)  Florida Heritage  Early American Political and Historical pamphlets and letters

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Photographs, Archival documents, Scrapbooks

Priorities for analog preservation: Theodore Pratt's original manuscripts  Faculty Papers of Norman Nathan

Digitization plan status: Underway

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: CopiBook Overhead Scanner  Plustek Book Edge Scanner  Epson Expression 10000 flatbed scanner

Formats digitized to date: Books, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Scrapbooks

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Islandora

 

 

Florida International University

Website: https://dpanther.fiu.edu/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks,

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Paper finding aids, , Website

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local history, Caribbean history, Latin American history flora and fauna, Scientific reports, University history & governance, Latin American music, Flute music, Piano music, Vocal music

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks

Priorities for analog preservation: Audio/Video - VHS, UMATIC, 78 rpm recordings, cassette recordings

Digitization plan status:  Under discussion

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Epson Expression 11000XL  Epson Expression 1640 XL   Fuji ScanSnap S1500  Kic   Coolpic slide scanner  Konica Minolta SL1000 Digital Film Scanner  ATIZ Scanner  Bookeye Scanner  Kirtas Scanner

Formats digitized to date: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks,

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Islandora, Omeka, Social sites (blogs, photo sharing sites, wikis, etc.), , dPanther, dLOC (SobekCM), MANGO discovery system, websites, DigitalCommons

 

 

Florida International University – South Florida Collection

Website: http://dpanther.fiu.edu/dPanther/collections/SFL

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings,  Maps

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect?  The collection covers a wide range of topics and includes materials prepared by and for local government agencies. This includes county, city, state, and federal agencies.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Maps,

Priorities for analog preservation:  At the collection level, we are focusing on making these resources discoverable to patrons.

Digitization plan status: Don't know

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house?Yes

Equipment used: Not located within my department so I can not speak to that.

Formats digitized to date: Archival documents

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Sobek

 

 

Lake Worth Public Library

Website: https://www.lakeworth.org/residents/library/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Photographs, Newspapers

How are your collections discoverable? Paper finding aids

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local History

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, , Photographs, , Newspapers

Priorities for analog preservation: Photographs, - Digitize Lake Worth Herald Newspaper 1912-2010 - Digitize - Lake Worth Herald owner Mark Eastman has agreed to digitize them.

Digitization plan status: Don't know

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, but we are planning to start in the next 12 months.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? No

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date: none

Platform for accessing digitized collections: none

 

 

Doreen Gauthier Lighthouse Point Library

Website: http://lighthousepointlibrary.com/LHP/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: We do not have any rare or unique items in our collection

How are your collections discoverable? N/A

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? N/A

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books

Priorities for analog preservation: Preservation is not a priority for us.

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections?We have never digitized collections, and do not plan to.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house?

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date:

Platform for accessing digitized collections:

 

Lynn University

Website: http://lynn-library.libguides.com/library/home

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Maps, Scrapbooks,

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, spreadsheets, and databases

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? University history, local community leaders, local history

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? No

Formats included in Florida collection(s):

Priorities for analog preservation:

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Scanners

Formats digitized to date: Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings

Platform for accessing digitized collections: SimpleDL, but we are planning to change this.

 

 

Miami-Dade Public Library System

Website: http://www.mdpls.org/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Paper finding aids, , I have extensive knowledge of the collections.

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? We have local history, architecture, flora and fauna, weather, famous citizens, and many other Florida, Caribbean and especially Cuban materials.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks, Florida author manuscripts and correspondence and an extensive subject clipping file.

Priorities for analog preservation:  Almost all of our collections are housed in the Main Library where temperature is controlled very regularly.  We do have some materials both books and others that are in brittle condition.  In addition, a large portion of our microfilm has vinegar syndrome and we are working towards solving that problem in a variety of ways.

Digitization plan status: Under discussion

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, but we are planning to start in the next 12 months.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? No

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date: Photographs, We digitized a 1/17 of our photographs but they must be re-done to archivally preserve them.

Platform for accessing digitized collections: We are investigating a Digital Asset Management system for our future projects.

 

 

North Miami Beach Library

Website: http://nmblib.weebly.com/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Maps, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Asking in person

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local history

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Maps

Priorities for analog preservation: Preservation boxes, acid free storage, climate controlled room, archival process, staff to care for the collection.

Digitization plan status: In draft form

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? No

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date: Photographs

Platform for accessing digitized collections:Do not have a server to share it on.  It is a back up drive with a few pictures through the help of Barry University and Digital Library of the Caribbean, FIU

 

 

Nova Southeastern University

Website: http://sherman.library.nova.edu/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks,

How are your collections discoverable?  Some are viewable in the online catalog, some are in NSUWorks, most are not documented.

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect?

Primarily NSU institutional history. Other donated collections include items relevant to south Florida or items used for teaching/research by members of the University community - at the moment there are a few collections specific to dentistry, business management

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Photographs, Newspapers, Magazines

Priorities for analog preservation: NSU Presidential Papers, NSU Board of Trustees Minutes, Photographs - basically, paper based collections    Also audio-visual materials - Oral Histories, promotional videos, news videos

Digitization plan status: Under discussion

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: 2 flat bed scanners  VHS to DVD VCR converter  CD/DVD conversion software to digital files

Formats digitized to date: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, brochures, programs, magazines, slides

Platform for accessing digitized collections: State/regional website, Social sites (blogs, photo sharing sites, wikis, etc.), , Digital Commons, Kaltura, LibGuides, OCLC Digital Gateway, NDLTD, ROAR, DOAJ

 

 

Nova Southeastern University Panza Maurer Law Library

Website: https://www.law.nova.edu/library/index.html

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, institutional repository

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? history of the law school

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers

Priorities for analog preservation:

photos and faculty works

Digitization plan status:

There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections?

We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: book scanner, copier scanner

Formats digitized to date: Books, Ephemera, Photographs,

Platform for accessing digitized collections: bepress Digital Commons

 

 

Palm Beach Atlantic University

Website: http://librarypba.edu

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Photographs, Archival documents, Audio or video recordings

How are your collections discoverable? Paper finding aids

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Senator George S. Lemieux  Dr. Jess Moody  Baptist church history  James Mallory Willson  Florida artists  Eastern European art  Krzysztof Penderecki  American Ballet

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Photographs, Audio or video recordings, works of art

Priorities for analog preservation:  Video and audio tape held within certain collection that need conversion.

Digitization plan status:  There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Epson XL10000 scanner  digital camera  audio/video tape conversion equipment  Equella digital repository system

Formats digitized to date: Books, Photographs, Audio or video recordings, works of art

Platform for accessing digitized collections: CONTENTdm, Social sites (blogs, photo sharing sites, wikis, etc.), Equella digital repository system

 

 

Palm Beach County Library System

Website: http://www.pbclibrary.org/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Many government documents are discoverable via in-person browsing only.

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Audubon Collection (ornithology), Palm Beach Post microfilm back to 1915, New York Times microfilm back to 1920, various Palm Beach County cross-reference directories dating back to the 1950s, Florida history, LIS professional collection, local author col

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Motion picture film, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, government documents

Priorities for analog preservation: Preservation of cross-reference directories include occasional rebinding when necessary.

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Envisionware LDS scanner

Formats digitized to date: Library board documents

Platform for accessing digitized collections: None

 

 

Palm Beach State College Library, Lake Worth Campus

Website: http://www.palmbeachstate.edu/library/default.aspx

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival Documents, Newspapers, Audio or Video Recordings, Motion Picture Film, Microfilm or microfiche, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, paper finding aids, Link from Library and Institution websites; searchable via Internet Archive; Kaltura media links on Institution website

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? The Palm Beach State College archives includes items relating to the college (starting in 1933) and the local community. In addition to yearbooks, newspapers and photographs from both Palm Beach Junior College and Roosevelt Junior College, the archives houses the Florida Collection and historical documents (e.g. Monday Report, Perspectives, Self-studies, District Board of Trustees' minutes), scrapbooks, sports team information, newspaper clippings, memorabilia, and Professor Watson B. Duncan resources. There are also a small number of photos, clippings, objects, and recordings featuring notable alumnus Burt Reynolds

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival Documents, Newspapers, Audio or Video Recordings, Motion Picture Film, Microfilm or microfiche, Scrapbooks

Priorities for analog preservation: Currently staff is processing boxes of items donated from campus-wide sources. The items are sorted, and paper clips, staples and rubber bands are removed. The items are rehoused into archival quality polypropylene sleeves and placed in acid free binders and boxes. A box list is created and the inventory added to a notebook. As time and money allows, the items are scanned and digitized and added to the Internet Archives Personal addresses and data must be removed before digitizing. Most of the scrapbooks are too large and too heavy for our book scanner.

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Konica Minolta PS5000c book scanner with Scan Diva software

Formats digitized to date: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival Documents, Newspapers

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Internet Archive, Flickr, Kaltura

 

 

Palm Springs Public Library

Website: http://www.palmspringsca.gov/government/departments/library

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: We do not have any rare or unique items in our collection

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Florida; Collection and preservation

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books

Priorities for analog preservation:  n/a

Digitization plan status:  There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, and do not plan to.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house?

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date:

Platform for accessing digitized collections:  

 

 

The Society of the Four Arts King Library

Website: https://www.fourarts.org/facilities/the-gioconda-and-joseph-king-library/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Archival documents, Newspapers, Maps, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Paper finding aids, Card catalog, Portions are preserved digitally; the scrapbooks are slated to be scanned in the next 2 years and will be searchable online.

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local history, institutional history, arts, and architecture; Addison Mizner (architect) and books about Maurice Fatio (architect for the King Library). There is a local history and Florida history collection that is circulated and includes flora/fauna of Florida. Journals from Palm Beach are retained

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Maps, Scrapbooks

Priorities for analog preservation:  We are in the process of getting ready to renovate our facility.  In that plan there is a a new redesigned "rare book room" as we call it.  This room will house most of our special collections in a climate controlled environment; Digitization of the Mizner scrapbooks (18); digitization or links to the online versions of Mizner's own library (many of the books have been digitized by other institutions).

Digitization plan status:  In draft form

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, but we are planning to start in the next 12 months.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Fujitsu ScanSnap SV600.  This will be used for digitizing small things and some books.

Formats digitized to date: Books, Archival documents

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Internet Archive, Social sites (blogs, photo sharing sites, wikis, etc.)

 

 

St. Thomas University

Website: http://www.stu.edu/library

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? National Office of Black Catholics, Florida History,  Catholic History

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Photographs, Newspapers

Priorities for analog preservation:  Catholic History and local Florida history

Digitization plan status:  Under discussion

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: We have Bookeye scanner

Formats digitized to date: Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Artstor Shared Shelf

 

 

St. Thomas University Law Library

Website: https://www.stu.edu/law/library

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Federal Judicial Papers

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers

Priorities for analog preservation:

Digitization plan status:

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections?

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house?

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date:

Platform for accessing digitized collections:

 

 

University of Miami

Website: https://library.miami.edu/

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks,

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local history and culture; Cuban history, culture, and diaspora; Caribbean history, culture, and diaspora; Local activism; Social justice; Pan Am archives; history and culture of the Caribbean basin; university history.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Maps, Scrapbooks, zines

Priorities for analog preservation:  Our top priorities are our distinctive collections (Special Collections, Cuban Heritage Collection, and University Archives) which are primarily paper-based; audio and video content is at high risk, so is also a top candidate for preservation

Digitization plan status: Approved

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Several flatbed scanners, two specialized book scanners, slide scanners, large format scanner, and some audio/video conversion equipment.

Formats digitized to date: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Maps, Scrapbooks

Platform for accessing digitized collections: CONTENTdm, Homebuilt solution, Omeka

 

 

The Wolfsonian - Florida International University

Website: http://www.wolfsonian.org/research-library

SEFLIN member: Yes

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Maps, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? time period roughly 1850-1950  topics: decorative arts, design, propaganda, conflict, travel, leisure, industry

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Maps, Scrapbooks

Priorities for analog preservation: Paper conservation very much needed.

Digitization plan status: Approved

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: two Phase One Digital Cameras (45 MP), motorized copy stand, studio lighting equipment, some older flatbed scanners

Formats digitized to date: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, , , , Maps, Scrapbooks, we are also a museum and have been digitizing collection objects ranging from buttons to train coaches

Platform for accessing digitized collections: State/regional website, Omeka, Social sites (blogs, photo sharing sites, wikis, etc.), SobekCM (currently hosted by sobekdigital)

 

Non-SEFLIN members

Advent Christian Village Archive

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Photographs, Archival documents

How are your collections discoverable? Requests by mail, phone, etc.

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect?  local history, information on children who lived at the Home & Orphanage.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Photographs

Priorities for analog preservation: Preserving the history of our institution (Advent Christian Village) and the early history of Dowling Park, FL

Digitization plan status:  Approved

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We digitized some collections more than three years ago.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Camera  PastPerfect Software  Scanner

Formats digitized to date: Photographs, Archival documents

Platform for accessing digitized collections: PastPerfect

 

 

Ethel M. Gordon Oakland Park Library

Website: http://oaklandparkfl.gov/200/Ethel-M-Gordon-Oakland-Park-Library

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? We are in the planning stage of digitizing the Oakland Park Historical Society materials.

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local history of City of Oakland Park.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): , Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Scrapbooks, old projector slides

Priorities for analog preservation: TBD

Digitization plan status:  There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, but we are planning to start in the next 12 months.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? No

Equipment used: NA

Formats digitized to date: NA

Platform for accessing digitized collections: TBD

 

 

Expanding and Preserving Our Cultural Heritage, Inc.

Website: http://www.spadymuseum.com/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: We do not have any rare or unique items in our collection

How are your collections discoverable? Paper finding aids

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? local black history

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Ephemera, Photographs, Newspapers

Priorities for analog preservation: The Spady Museum collects and preserves the collections of black citizens of Palm Beach County.

Digitization plan status: Under discussion

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We digitized some collections more than three years ago.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: scanner  camera  Past Perfect Software

Formats digitized to date: Photographs, Archival documents

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Consortium website

 

 

Fort Lauderdale Historical Society

Website: http://www.fortlauderdalehistoricalsociety.org/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Maps, Scrapbooks,

How are your collections discoverable? Paper finding aids, Card catalog,

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local History  Famous Citizens  Business Development  Archaeology  Military History  Architecture  Education

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Maps, Scrapbooks,

Priorities for analog preservation: Top priority for preservation is the collection of 400,000 historic photographs and digitization of oral histories.

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections?We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date: Photographs, Archival documents, Audio or video recordings

Platform for accessing digitized collections: PastPerfect

 

 

Helen B. Hoffman Plantation Library

Website: http://www.plantation.org/Library/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: We do not have any rare or unique items in our collection

How are your collections discoverable?  n/a

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? n/a

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? No

Formats included in Florida collection(s):

Priorities for analog preservation:

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, and do not plan to.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house?

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date:

Platform for accessing digitized collections:

 

 

Historic Stranahan House Museum

Website: http://www.stranahanhouse.org/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Archival documents

How are your collections discoverable? Very small collection and not open to the public

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Family documents, local history

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Archival documents

Priorities for analog preservation: Analog preservation is not something we do.

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, and do not plan to.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house?

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date:

Platform for accessing digitized collections:

 

 

Historical Society of Palm Beach County

Website: http://historicalsocietypbc.org/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks,

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Paper finding aids, , Staff knowledge and direction

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect?  Aerials, Photos Only, Amusements & Attractions, Parades,  Animals,  Archaeology,  Architecture, Architects and Builders, Architectural Drawings, Art & Artists, Art Galleries & Museums, Flagler Museum , Norton Gallery of Art

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Maps, Scrapbooks,

Priorities for analog preservation: Our top priority for any collection is to ensure its stability.  We check for mold and pest infiltration, treat for same as necessary, and rehouse collections in preparation for cataloguing.

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Currently we have Hewlet Packard Scanjet 8300s.  We have recently applied for a grant to upgrade our scanners to Epson 1000XL, plus a book scanner.

Formats digitized to date: Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Audio or video recordings

Platform for accessing digitized collections: PastPerfect

 

 

Lantana Public Library

Website: http://www.lantanalibrary.org/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Books, Photographs, Archival documents, Scrapbook,

How are your collections discoverable? Linehan Collection of Lantana historical photographs available at www.lantanalibrary.org.

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local history.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, , Photographs, Archival documents, Scrapbooks

Priorities for analog preservation:  Our priority is to digitize our collection of local history slides, acquired by the Town's deceased Historian, Mary Linehan.  We also have permission from the copyright holder to digitize Mrs. Linehan's Early Lantana, Her Neighbors- and More (1980).

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We digitized some collections more than three years ago.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? No

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date: Photographs

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Social sites (blogs, photo sharing sites, wikis, etc.)

 

 

Martin County Library System

Website: http://www.lib.martin.fl.us/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Books, Microfilm or microfiche, Scrapbooks,

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Referral from Information Desk, website for historical photography project

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local Florida history: founding families and genealogy, historical building projects, landmark events and disasters, newspaper scrapbook.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Photographs, Newspapers, Motion picture film, Motion picture film, Microfilm or microfiche, Maps, Scrapbooks,

Priorities for analog preservation: Genealogy and local newspaper on microfilm (via Newsbank)

Digitization plan status: In draft form

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Flatbed scanners with attachment for slides and 35mm film

Formats digitized to date: Photographs

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Omeka

 

 

North Miami Public Library

Website: http://www.northmiamifl.gov/departments/library/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: We do not have any rare or unique items in our collection

How are your collections discoverable? N/A

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? N/A

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? No

Formats included in Florida collection(s):

Priorities for analog preservation:

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, but we are planning to start in the next 12 months.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? No

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date: none

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Don't know

 

 

Palm Beach County Surfing History Project

Website: http://surfhistoryproject.org/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Online catalog, Our website...surfhistoryproject.org

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Beach life, surfing life, famous local and national surfers, a time when no one else was documenting this culture with the intimacy and color as the photos of Marion Edward Gruber.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Motion picture film, Motion picture film, , , , Scrapbooks, Color slides

Priorities for analog preservation: Digitizing M.E.Gruber's 5000 images, Super 8 and 8mm archival  films of surfing in Florida and Florida surfers surfing in far off places, clothing, newspapers, movie posters, items used by 60's surf clubs, vintage local surfboards.

Digitization plan status:  There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? No

Equipment used: A small slide scanner that only scans at about 680 kb.

Formats digitized to date: Ephemera, Photographs, Motion picture film, Scrapbooks, Color slides

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Internet Archive, Social sites (blogs, photo sharing sites, wikis, etc.)

 

 

Palm Beach Zoo & Conservation Society

Website: http://www.palmbeachzoo.org/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Archival documents

How are your collections discoverable? Paper finding aids

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? endangered species, flora and fauna, historical paper documents

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Archival documents

Priorities for analog preservation:  Albums of historical documents

Digitization plan status:  There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, but we are planning to start in the next 12 months.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house, Outsource

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? No

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date: Archival documents, Newspapers, We currently use Dropbox - interested in options

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Don't know

 

 

Plantation Historical Museum

Website: http://www.plantation.org/Museum/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Books, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings, Maps, Scrapbooks

How are your collections discoverable? Museum interaction

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local, state and U.S. history.

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Maps, Scrapbooks

Priorities for analog preservation:

Computerized & digitization archiving.

Digitization plan status: Approved

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization? In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Hardware   Software (Past Perfect Program)  Scanner  Camera

Formats digitized to date: Photographs

Platform for accessing digitized collections: PastPerfect

 

 

Seminole Tribe of Florida - Library Program

Website: http://www.semtribe.com/Services/TribalLibrary.aspx

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Books, Photographs

How are your collections discoverable? Card catalog

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? History and culture of the Seminole Tribe of Florida

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Photographs, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings

Priorities for analog preservation: Yet to be assessed

Digitization plan status: There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We have never digitized collections, and do not plan to.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house?

Equipment used:

Formats digitized to date:

Platform for accessing digitized collections:

 

 

St. Vincent de Paul Seminary

Website: http://www.svdp.edu/library-research

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Books, Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings

How are your collections discoverable? Archives catalog not public; appointment must be made with executive office

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? History of institution and Catholic Church in Florida

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Photographs, Archival documents, Newspapers, Audio or video recordings

Priorities for analog preservation: Most items in analog. Some recent photos and documents in digital format.

Digitization plan status:  There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  In house

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Desktop scanners

Formats digitized to date: Photographs, Archival documents

Platform for accessing digitized collections: Public access not available

 

Vizcaya Museum and Gardens

Website: http://vizcaya.org/

SEFLIN member: No

Special Collection Formats: Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival Documents, Scrapbooks, Other (Blueprints and Architectural Drawings)

How are your collections discoverable?By appointment with the Archivist

What topics do your rare or special collections reflect? Local history (Miami/South Florida); Gilded Age; art history; history of collecting in America; design; architecture; environment

Does your collection include materials specifically related to Florida and/or your specific area of Florida? Yes

Formats included in Florida collection(s): Books, Ephemera, Photographs, Archival Documents, Scrapbooks, Other (Blueprints and Architectural Drawings)

Priorities for analog preservation: Maintaining optimal (or, by necessity, minimally acceptable) conditions for storage of archival and historic materials. - Minimizing the need to access materials, in particular blueprints and architectural drawings, and historic photographs; these have mostly been digitized over the past few years. - Minimizing the need to access correspondence (30,000+ items) by improving finding aids and through digitization; this is currently happening mostly on an as needed basis..

Digitization plan status:  There is no formal plan

Do you currently or are you planning on digitizing collections? We currently digitize collections, or have within the past three years.

Do you digitize collections in-house or outsource digitization?  Both

Does your institution have digitization equipment (i.e. scanners, cameras, other hardware, and software) to do this work in-house? Yes

Equipment used: Large flatbed scanner

Formats digitized to date: Photographs, Other (Blueprints and Architectural Drawings)

Platform for accessing digitized collections:We currently use Proficio (Re:discovery) for in house access and in the past have been contemplating using its webmodule for public access.