Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SEFLIN Virtual Conference 2020: Links, Citations, and other Fun Stuff from Presenters

Libraries the Intersection of Technology & Innovation

SEFLIN'S 2020 Virtual Conference

undefined

Presenter Resources

 

   

Jane McGonigal, PhD, is the Director of Game Research and Development for the Institute for the Future in Palo Alto, California. She believes game designers are on a humanitarian mission - and her #1 goal in life is to see a game developer win a Novel Peace Prize. She is the author of two New York Times bestselling books: Reality is Broken: Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change the World and SuperBetter: The Power of Living Gamefully. You might know Jane from her TED talks on how games can make a better world and the game that can give you 10 extra years of life, which have more than 15 million views. She is also the inventor of SuperBetter, a game that has helped more than a million players recover from symptoms of depression, anxiety, chronic pain, and traumatic brain injury.

Connecting with Jane McGonigal

  @janemcgonigalphd

  Jane McGonigal

  @avantgame

Books 

McGonigal, J. (2015). SuperBetter: The Power of Living Gamefully. United States: Penguin Publishing Group.

McGonigal, J. (2011). Reality Is Broken: Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change the World. United States: Penguin Publishing Group.

 

Virginia Dressler is the Digital Projects Librarian at Kent State University. Her specialty areas are project management of digital projects and reformatting of analog collections for open digital collections, including overseeing the Daily Kent Stater digital archive project (daily student newspaper) and working with the university's unique collections. She holds an MLIS from Kent State University and MA in Art gallery and Museum Studies from the University of Leeds. She is the author of Framing Privacy in Digital Collections with ethical Decision Making. 

 

 

Connect with Virginia Dressler

 

  vdressle@kent.edu

     kentstate_lib

    @KentState_LIB

    @ksulibraries

 

Resources from the Presenter

 

Related Articles

1. The right to be forgotten and implications on digital collections: a survey of ARL member institutions on practice and policy

V Dressler, C Kristof

College & Research Libraries 79 (7), 972

2. Framing Privacy in Digital Collections with Ethical Decision Making

V Dressler

Synthesis Lectures on Information Concepts, Retrieval, and Services 10 (3), i-85

3. Privacy concerns & ethical decision-making in digital collections

VA Dressler

 

Related Presentations

1. Privacy concerns & ethical decision-making in digital collections

2018 Digital Library Federation Forum (2018)

Virginia A Dressler

2. The Right to be Forgotten in digital collections: A survey of practice and policy at ARL institutions

Digital Library Federation Forum 2017 (2017)

Virginia A Dressler & Cindy Kristof

3. Balancing Privacy and Access in Personal Digital Archives

Personal Digital Archiving (2019)

Virginia A Dressler

 

Lists of Publications

1.  Selected Articles & Presentations by Virginia Dressler

2.  Google Scholar list of articles by Virginia Dressler

Web Resources

 

Books

1. Library Privacy Policies

ALA: Library Technology Reports, Jason Vaughan

2. A Practical Guide to Privacy in Libraries

Paul Pedley

 

Resources from the Digital Library Federation (DLF)

1. WEBINAR: Privacy in Practice

2. WIKI: DLF Privacy and Ethics in Technology

 

Library Privacy Policy Resources from ALA

1. Guidelines: http://www.ala.org/advocacy/privacy/guidelines

2. Privacy Training: https://chooseprivacyeveryday.org/resources/privacy-training-education-for-librarians/https://chooseprivacyeveryday.org/resources/privacy-training-education-for-librarians/

 

                                       

Kelley Rowan is the Digital Archives Librarian in the digital Collections Center at Florida International University where she serves as the ETD librarian, publishing all electronic thesis and dissertations for the university. Additionally, she manages various projects related to the dPanther digital repository and serves as a dPanther liaison within the university and with community partners. Other activities include her specialization in the science of survey creation, offering recurring workshops through FIU's Digital Scholar Studio and serving as the editor-in-chief of Athenaeum: Scholarly Works of the FIU Libraries Faculty and Staff collection. Kelly presents regularly at conferences and is an active member and chair of regional, state, and national committees. 

krowan@fiu.edu

 

Rebecca Bakker is the Digital Collections Librarian at the Digital Collections Center at Florida International University. In addition to overseeing the mass digitization of FIU's retrospective theses and dissertations, she provides workshops on digitization skills, metadata and content management. She also specializes in digital humanities topics such as creating oral histories and digital exhibits. Rebecca's time is additionally spent serving as a liaison for community and university partners working with both FIU's digital and institutional repositories. She holds an MLIS from Florida State University.

rbakker@fiu.edu

 

Connect with Rebecca and Kelley

 Rebecca Bakker: rbakker@fiu.edu and Kelley Rowan: krowan@fiu.edu

 @dccfiu

 @FIU_Digital_Lib

 

Resources from the Presenters

 

Presentation

DLF Presentation: The Dark Side of Digitized Content: Stalking, Consent, and Subpoenas

Rebecca Bakker & Kelley Rowan

Books

1. Library Privacy Policies

ALA: Library Technology Reports, Jason Vaughan

2. A Practical Guide to Privacy in Libraries

Paul Pedley

Resources from the Digital Library Federation (DLF)

1. WEBINAR: Privacy in Practice

2. WIKI: DLF Privacy and Ethics in Technology

Library Privacy Policy Resources from ALA

1. Guidelines: http://www.ala.org/advocacy/privacy/guidelines

2. Privacy Training: https://chooseprivacyeveryday.org/resources/privacy-training-education-for-librarians/https://chooseprivacyeveryday.org/resources/privacy-training-education-for-librarians/

Elise Gowen is the Earth and Mineral Sciences Librarian at Penn State University. She holds a Master of Library and Information Science from the University of British Columbia and previously worked as the Earth and Environmental Sciences Librarian at University of Colorado Boulder. Her research interests include virtual reality, science communication, and open access.

Connect with Elise Gowen

 edg16@psu.edu 

  Elise Gowen

  @psulibs

  @psulibs

          

 

Resources from the Presenter

 

Tammy Westergard

Named Nevada's Deputy State Librarian in 2016 and state Librarian in October 2019, Tammy Westergard is focused on the library as an "onramp" for working-age citizens to reframe or gain marketable skills. She's helped arrange opportunities for training in advanced manufacturing - with ability to earn industry recognized credentials - at the library. She says focus on strategic partnerships through shared and complementary workforce development policy has been key to success and sustainability. In 2016 Library Journal named Tammy as an Agent of change Mover and Shaker. Tammy received her bachelor's degree in Speech Communications from the University of Nevada, Reno. She has a Graduate Academic Certificate in Advanced Management, a Master of Library Science from the University of North Texas and is a member of Beta Phi Mu, the international library and information studies honor society. Tammy also serves on the International Advisory board for the Vaclav Havel Library Foundation. The nonprofit organization was established in the United States to honor, preserve, and build upon the legacy of Vaclav Havel, the former President of Czechoslovakia and the Czech Republic. In addition to promoting worldwide awareness of Havel's contributions to the democratic transition in Central Europe, the foundation focuses on ongoing debates about the transition of the global community from the 20th to 21st century. 

Katherine DeRosear

Katherine is the Senior Vice President of Partner Engagement for Headed2, LLC, bringing to the position 25 years of experience in applied social science. Specializing in workforce development, government relations and community development, Katherine facilitates innovative workforce partnerships that link educational programs with economic opportunities. For over 15 years, Headed 2 has matched the power of educational, career and labor market data with educational theory and computer science to build individuals' career navigation skills. Prior to joining the Headed2 leadership team, Katherine served in key positions within Virginia, including the Executive Director of Workforce Development for the Virginia Manufacturers Association; Deputy Senior Advisor for Workforce Development in the Governor's Office; Deputy Director for the Council on Virginia's Future; and the Director of Workforce Policy for the Virginia Community College System Division of Workforce Development. Katherine is from Nebraska where she graduated from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln. 

Mark Anderson

Mark Andersen is the Co-founder and CEO of Lifelique, a workforce development and education platform for students to learn visually in digital 3D. Lifelique's platform distributes the world's largest digital Science library available in interactive 3D models, augmented reality, and virtual reality. Mark focuses on expanding Lifelique's career exploration and job training learning resources into schools and libraries. He created Lifelique's partnership with the Nevada State Library launching XR into 16 Nevada libraries. Lifeliqe is partnering with the College of Southern Nevada's dialysis tech certification program where Lifeliqe is piloting a first-in-the-world VR simulation to train dialysis technicians. Previously he was the Business School Chairman at Anglo-American University where he also taught for five years. For the past twenty years mark has worked as a marketing leader in tech startups in Silicon Valley. Before getting his MBA from Northwestern University (Kellogg) Mark co-founded a successful startup that grew to 120 employees. 

John Macleod

John MacLeod is the executive director of XRLibraries, a leading company integrating XR technology in libraries and schools. Over the last four years he has worked with state and local libraries to implement strategies for deploying augmented, virtual and 360 vr technology and programs. Over 200 VR systems have been installed in underserved libraries in California and Nevada, making this the largest VR installation in public library networks. He is a partner in Nevada State Library's Career Pathways Program providing the College of Southern Nevada the first-in-the-world dialysis technician training using 3D and virtual reality. He continues to build a national clearinghouse for libraries to share best practices in the use of XR technologies in libraries. XRLibraries provides end to end solutions for deploying and integrating Virtual, Augmented and Mixed (XR) technologies and programs in libraries and schools. Our goal is to enable equitable access to immersive technologies for all communities. 

Connect with Tammy Westergard

 

   twestergard@admin.nv.gov

    Tammy Westergard

   @nevada_and

    @NevadaStateLibrary

 

Articles & Presentations

Enis, Matt. "Nevada State Library Expands Virtual Reality Project: Job training, cataloging, content creation among initiatives." Library Journal, vol. 144, no. 5, June 2019, p. 10. Gale General OneFile, https://link-gale-com.libezproxy.broward.org/apps/doc/A587975096/ITOF?u=broward29&sid=ITOF&xid=3f06947f. Accessed 12 Aug. 2020.

Fialkoff, Francine. "Movers & shakers 2016: the people shaping the future of libraries." Library Journal, vol. 141, no. 5, 15 Mar. 2016, p. 22+. Gale General OneFile, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A446521058/ITOF?u=broward29&sid=ITOF&xid=38e90508https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A446521058/ITOF?u=broward29&sid=ITOF&xid=38e90508. Accessed 12 Aug. 2020.

Peet, Lisa. "Nevada library to offer MT1: certification will help boost local workforce." Library Journal, vol. 140, no. 6, 1 Apr. 2015, p. 15+. Gale General OneFile, https://link-gale-com.libezproxy.broward.org/apps/doc/A408916887/ITOF?u=broward29&sid=ITOF&xid=e348a2b2. Accessed 12 Aug. 2020.

 

Miguel Figueroa works at the Center for the Future of Libraries (www.ala.org/libraryofthefuture), an initiative from the American Library Association. He has previously held positions at the American Theological Library Association; ALA's Office for Diversity and Office for Literacy and Outreach Services; NYU's Ehrman Medical Library; and Neal-Schuman Publishers. He is a graduate of the University of Arizona's Knowledge River Program, an initiative that examines library issues from Hispanic and Native American perspectives. 

 

Connect with Miguel Figueroa

       

     @figuerca

      Miguel Figueroa

         

 

Additional Resources

Adrienne Maree Brown, Emergent Strategy: Shaping Change, Changing Worlds

Marsha Lynne Rhea, Anticipate the World You Want: Learning for Alternative Futures

Richard A.K. Lum 4 Steps to the Future: A Quick and Clean Guide to Creating Foresight

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. “Overview of Methodologies.” Schooling for Tomorrow Knowledge Base.

Google Career Certificates

Peter C. Bishop and Andy Hines, Teaching About the Future

Todd Kashdan, David DiSabato, Fallon Goodman, and Carl Naughton. “The Five Dimensions of Curiosity.” The Harvard Business Review