Skip to main content

SEFLIN Strategic Planning 2018 - 2021: Needs Assessment

Executive Summary of the Environmental Scan

SEFLIN Environmental Scan 2018 Executive Summary

This report contains information focused on SEFLIN, Florida’s Multi-type Library Cooperatives, Demographics of Southeast Florida, Public Libraries, and Academic Libraries in Southeast Florida. It contains several sections:

  • SEFLIN Administrative and Programming Services 5 year Comparison -This section compares several data points comparing SEFLIN between 2011-12 and 2016 -17.  SEFLIN lost six member libraries from for profit academic libraries due to closure of the library or school and one public library member.  The membership increased by 14 during the same time period. the cost of membership decreased and funding from state and federal grants increased.

  • Multi-Type Library Cooperatives in Florida -There are five Multi-Type Library Cooperatives (MLCs) in Florida, PLAN in the Panhandle, NEFLIN in the Northeast, SEFLIN in the Southeast, SWFLN in the Southwest, and TBLC in Tampa Bay and Central areas.  There is currently a total of 20 MLC staff members (5.5 are SEFLIN employees).  Each MLC is funded by membership dues, the State Library Cooperative Grants, and the Federal LSTA grants.  Each MLC offers their community Continuing Education, Resource Sharing, and various other programs and resources. SEFLIN serves the smallest number of counties (4) but has the second largest population.  In 2015-16 SEFLIN provided the most continuing education events of the five and had the second largest participation in member participation in meetings and group activities

  • Changing Demographics of Southeast Florida -This section compares the SEFLIN region to the state of Florida and the United States from 2011 to 2016, reflecting the growth in total population and across different segments of the population.  The data is from the American Community Survey.  The SEFLIN region when compared to Florida and to the United States has experienced continued growth in all of the counties especially in the Hispanic population (43% growth). Three of the four counties unemployment rate is above the average for the US.  Three of the four counties enjoy a per capita income higher than the rest of the country. Two of the counties experiences a larger percentage of children under five living in poverty (almost 20%) and two of the counties have a larger percentage of persons 65 and over living in poverty (almost 20%).  There are high numbers of persons without a high school diploma and high numbers of veterans.

  • Changes in Library Collections, Staffing, and Services - 2011 - 2015 -

    Data from the IPEDS annual surveys details the changes in Academic Library Services between the years 2011-2015

    • Facilities - There are four additional branches, three were closed and seven were added.
    • Staff -Salaries increased by $4,084,008.
    • Print Collections - The total physical book collection has been reduced by 2,675,348 volumes, a 28% reduction.
    • E-Book collection - The E-Book collection has grown for a total of 5,113,531, a 61% increase.
    • Expenditures
    • Expenditures on books decreased by $3,141,976.
    • Ongoing commitments to subscriptions increased by $
    • Total Expenditures in 2016 equalled $92,278,910
    • Circulation - Total book and digital circulation in 2016 was 3,791,511
    • Retention Rate - The retention rate between 2012-2016 decreased by 115
    • Total Enrollment - increased by 4,519, with some schools adding and some schools subtracting.  This is the total for all schools in the SEFLIN membership
  • Strategic Planning Member Survey - The summary of the 2018 member library staff survey points to several critical areas that need to be addressed in the strategic plan: opportunities for developing and maintaining networking and sharing of expertise, developing and continuing to provide Staff Development for all member organizations, and addressing new issues and trends libraries are and will be facing in the next three years.

  • Spring Membership Council Meeting Table Talks based on four fortune cookies - 

    Members were asked to discuss four possible fortune cookie futures for libraries:

    1.       All members of your community are good digital citizens (access and digital literacy)

    2.        Partnerships have enriched your community (partnerships)

    3.       Your library is known as the cornerstone of the community (advocacy)

    4.       Your community is better because of your library (outreach and engagement)

    All of the groups agreed these were futures they would like to come true. 

  • Stakeholder Interviews - 

    Staff interviewed by phone 12 stakeholders and asked the following questions:

    1.        What do you believe are the most critical needs of your library in the next three years?

    2.        What is your perception of SEFLIN and the services it provides?

    3.        What does SEFLIN do particularly well?

    4.       How could SEFLIN improve their servicess

            5.       What should SEFLIN look like in 5 years?